Skip to main content

CMP-125 (Rosenbaum, Spring_2020)

Research Writing

Locating Information

Next, find information about your topic.  

The links below connect you to articles and newspapers, books, websites, videos, and more

Also look for additional links that pertain directly to your class section.

Depending on what you find, you might need to revise your topic or search strategy.  

 

If you are having trouble finding information on your topic, always feel free to ask a librarian!

 

From the Libraries' website select Databases.  From here you can browse databases by SUBJECT or ALPHABETICALLY.

The following are selected databases that might be helpful in your research. There may be more; check the links above. 

For the  SUBJECT/APPROACH:

 CONSULT THE DATABASE:

 

INTERDISCIPLINARY

Academic Search Premier

OmniFile Full Text Mega (includes Humanities FT, Social Sciences FT and others)

CQ Researcher

Points of View Reference Center

JSTOR

Project MUSE

BUSINESS

ABI/INFORM Complete

Business Source Premier

COMMUNICATION

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

EDUCATION

ERIC

Education Full Text

GENDER

GenderWatch

HISTORY

America: History and Life (U.S./Canada)

Historical Abstracts (non-U.S.)

Humanties Full Text

LEGAL

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic)

LITERATURE

MLA International Bibliography

Humanities Full Text

Literary Reference Center

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Literature Criticism Online

Dictionary of Literary Biography Online

NEWSPAPERS

Access World News

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic)

ABI/INFORM Complete (Wall Street Journal)

PERFORMING ARTS

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Social Sciences Full Text

PSYCHOLOGY

PsycINFO

PsycARTICLES

PHILOSOPHY/RELIGION

Humanities Full Text

SCIENCES

GreenFILE

General Science Full Text

Medline

PubMed

Science Direct

SOCIAL SCIENCES

Social Sciences Full Text

Found the perfect article but there is no link to the full text? We might have access through another database. 

OR

If you have a citation for a journal article you want to get, use the Journals link to see if the Libraries own or have access to the print orelectronic versions of the journal title. Here's how to check.The example below is to find full text articles in the New York Times newspaper. From the RU Library home page, click the link to Journals.

picture of library home page with a black circle around the word, Journals

Type the name of the newspaper name in search box to see if it is available in one of our databases or in Moore Library:

Search box with word, New York Times with result of search finding the newspaper in Nexis and Proquest databases.