Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health & Health Care

Reference Books on this Topic


Dictionary of medical ethics

R724 .D53 1977

Encyclopedia of bioethics

QH332 .E52 2004

Legal and ethical dictionary for mental health professionals

KF3828 .A934 2009

 

For other reference books that treat this subject, see page under the "Reference Works" tab.

Find Books on this Topic

To find books in the Rider library collection on this and related subtopics, go to the online catalog's Subject search page and enter (or cut and paste) any of the following subject headings.

Medical Ethics

Then click on one of the more specific subject terms to see lists of books on each of those topics.

Web Sites on this Topic

  • American Academy of Medical Ethics (AAME) - promote the interests of medical educators, medical practitioners and scientists, and to protect and promote the historic values that have provided the long-standing foundation for western medical care.
  • AMA Medical Ethics - An important division of the American Medical Association, the Ethics Group works to improve patient care and the health of the public by examining and promoting physician professionalism. If you’re looking for guidance or insight to ethical issues in medicine today, the AMA Ethics Group offers relevant resources to help you.
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - AHRQ is the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality—the Nation's lead Federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety.

  • Art of Medicine at the 21st Century - show the human side of medicine through images of these physicians at work in their research laboratories, by their patients' bedside, in the operating room, and at conference and studies, but now aided with new knowledge.

  • BEKIS -Bioethics Communication and Information System - BEKIS is the bioethics infrastructure database of the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE). It complements the DRZE's own bioethics literature database BELIT. BEKIS lists national and international academic institutions, projects, working groups, individual researchers and funding bodies working in the field of ethics in the life sciences.
  • BioEthicWorld -BioEthicWorld was founded to promote informed ethical decision making in bioethics and public policy. The key misison of BioEthicWorld is to provide high quality independent consultancy services in bioethics to clients and to provide general information and advice to the public.

  • Center for Disease Control and Prevention - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, agency for conducting and supporting public health activities.

  • Clinical Trials Database - federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted worldwide.

  • Dr. Falk Schlesinger Institute for Medical-Halachic Research - The Schlesinger Institute is dedicated to the halachic approach of medical ethics. Through the scholarship and expertise of leading rabbis, doctors and others, the Institute aims to research and resolve the halachic issues that emerge as medicine progresses, to consider their medical, halachic, legal and ethical ramifications, and to present practical responses.

  • German Reference Centre for Ethics in Life Sciences - Since 2004 the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE) has been research centre of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Humanities for the elaboration of "Prerequisites, Norms and Criteria of Ethical Judgment Formation in the Life Sciences”. It is affiliated as central scientific institution to the University of Bonn.
  • Grants.gov - find and apply for federal grants.

  • Hastings Center - a non-partisan research institution dedicated to bioethics and the public interest since 1969.

  • Highwire Press - mixture of free and pay per view full text articles on science related topics.

  • ISI Highly Cited - Identifies “individuals, departments and laboratories that have made fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology in recent decades.”

  • Kennedy Institute of the Ethics (Georgetown University) - Library and Information Services. National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature

  • Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics - 'The mission of the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics is to conduct advanced scholarship on the ethics of clinical practice, biomedical science, and public health, both locally and globally, and to engage students, trainees, the public, and policy-makers in serious discourse about these issues.'

  • Lahey Clinic Medical Ethics - sponsors the Lahey Clinic Section of Medical Ethics Lecture Series which is open to clinic personnel and the general public. The Lahey Clinic Medical Ethics Newsletter features writings by highly regarded scholars and is published three times a year; its current circulation is 27,000 copies.The Lahey Clinic Section of Medical Ethics supports an Ethics Library in the main clinic library that contains books, journals and videotapes of its ethics lectures.

  • Medical Imagery - Every Day Miracles: Medical Imagery Ex-Votos - Ex-Votos are a personalized expression of thanks for a healing or a restoration of health and were popular from the 15th century through the 19th century. Their purpose has expanded to include the commemoration of a special event or to address a concern in an individual's life. Ex-votos continue to be a reflection of a tradition where faith and healing play a vital role in daily life.

  • Medical Library Association - MLA is a nonprofit, educational organization of more than 1,100 institutions and 3,600 individual members in the health sciences information field, committed to educating health information professionals, supporting health information research, promoting access to the world's health sciences information, and working to ensure that the best health information is available to all.

  • Medline Plus -An online guide from the National Institutes of Health on diseases, conditions, hospitals, physicians, a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, and prescription and nonprescription drug information."

  • Mental Health Information Network - An online portal "facilitating access to information on mental illness/health and physical illness/health" by Boston University's Alumni Medical Library and the Massachusetts Department of Mental Health.

  • Merck Manual of Geriatrics - survey of the many health care professions involved in geriatrics, plus categories of diseases, accidents, and adverse life events

  • National Institutes for Health - Part of the United States Department of Health & Human Services, the NIH's mission is to "foster fundamental creative discoveries, innovative research strategies, and their applications as a basis to advance significantly the Nation's capacity to protect and improve health."

  • NuGO Bioethics Guidelines Tool - The Nutritional Genomics Bioethics Guidelines Tool supplies compiled information about sensitive bioethical issues relevant for human nutritional sciences and nutrigenomics research. It comprises important official documents, research examples, templates and courses on bioethics throughout Europe. The NuGO Guidelines here specifically developed for nutrigenomics scientists dealing with human studies.
  • OSHA: Occupational Safety & Health Administration - Provides valuable information on occupational safety and job related issues.

  • PubMed Central - "The US National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Access to the full text of articles in PMC is free, except where a journal requires a subscription for access to recent articles."

  • Renfrew Organization - The Renfrew Center Foundation is a tax-exempt, nonprofit organization advancing the education, prevention, research, and treatment of eating disorders. We advance our mission by: Providing professional training and educational opportunities for mental health and medical professionals, creating awareness in the general public through the production of educational seminars and publications and participation in media-related activities, conducting research into the pathology and recovery patterns of people with eating disorders, educating policy makers to remove barriers to treatment, and providing assistance for women and girls.

  • Standford Center for Biomedical Ethics - dedicated to interdisciplinary research and education in biomedical ethics and provides clinical and research ethics consultation. Serves as a scholarly resource on emerging ethical issues raised by medicine and biomedical research.
  • Stem Cell Ethics - UMass Medical School Internation Stem Cell Registry sifte - Research on human embryonic stem (ES) cells holds great promise for the treatment of many diseases and conditions. Scientific and technological advances are accompanied by evolving ethical viewpoints. It is important to educate and explore the issues surrounding these developments.

  • Thesaurus Ethics in the Life Sciences - The Thesaurus provides coverage of current developments in bioethics.

  • UMass Medical School International Stem Cell Registry - The mission of the University of Massachusetts International Stem Cell Registry is to provide a searchable, comprehensive database that includes published and validated unpublished information on all human embryonic (hESC) and induced pluripotent (iPS) stem cell lines.

  • UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization - Since its involvement in promoting international reflection on the ethics of life sciences in the 1970s, UNESCO continues to build and reinforce linkages among ethicists, scientists, policy-makers and civil society to assist Member States in enacting sound and reasoned policies on ethical issues in science and technology.

  • USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) works to improve the health and well-being of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.

  • Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars - The Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars aims to unite the world of ideas to the world of policy by supporting pre-eminent scholarship and linking that scholarship to issues of concern to officials in Washington.
  • WHO - World Health Organization Health Topics Ethics - provides links to descriptions of activities, reports, news and events, as well as contacts and cooperating partners in the various WHO programmes and offices working on health topics ethics. Also shown are links to related web sites and topics.

For other Web sites that may treat this subject, see page under the "Web Sites" tab.