Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health & Health Care

Google Scholar: Articles and Books

Many researchers use free tools like Google Scholar (GS) to identify helpful books or journal articles.  If you find books in Google Scholar that you want, Check Rider's Online Catalog to see if our library has them.  If we don't, you can order any articles or books by filling out and submitting the appropriate Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form.

Google Scholar Search

Find Articles in Rider's Online Databases and Indexes

These are the primary commercial databases and indexes available to the Rider University community for finding articles on topics related to Health and Health Care.   See also the open-access databases available under the Web Sites tab above.


ABI/INFORM

This database includes a wide variety of business journals that cover "business conditions, trends, corporate strategies :and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information" and many other topics. You can search some 1,300 :journals for citations and abstracts. Full text is available online for approximately half of these journals. A list of :the subjects used in the database is available at the reference desk in Moore Library.

Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing indexing and abstracts for more :than twice as many active, peer-reviewed, business related journals as any other database. Business Source® Premier offers :indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. This :database includes searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business :Source Premier is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including :marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics."
Funded by the New Jersey State Library and the New Jersey Knowledge Initiative

CQ Researcher 

Enter "health" as a search term in the Quick Search box to find a list of CQ Research issues on Health and Health Care.  As with all CQ Researcher reports, each report is on a specific topic with more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies, written by CQ's staff of experienced reporters.

Medline

"MEDLINE® provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®. Premier Package customers will have instant access to full text for 1,750 journals indexed in MEDLINE (at no additional charge). Users of MEDLINE will be excited to learn that this is now a "full text database".

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.

Science Direct

With ScienceDirect you can:
  • Access over 1700 scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals.
  • Search over 59 million abstracts from scientific articles.
  • Link out to articles from over 120 other publishers.
  • ScienceDirect includes 125 titles formerly found in IDEAL.

General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

"General Science Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain plus the full text of selected periodicals. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Full Text also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday). Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage begins in January 1995."