Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health & Health Care

Web-based Reference Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of encyclopedias and other reference sources which covers a variety of topics, including Health and Health Care.  Search by key word; e.g., health.

MEDLINEplus (Dictionaries)

Merck Manual of Medical Information - Home Edition

The online consumer version of the Merck Manual


See also the Websites page of this guide.

Find More Reference Books

To find other reference books, go to Rider Library's online catalog and click on the "Advanced Search" tab above the search box.  In the first search box, enter any of the following terms, then choose "within Subject" in the pull-down box to the right, and in the Locations pull-down box, choose "Moore Library--Reference." Click on the "Search" button. *

Health

Medical

Medicine.

* You can also use other headings as subject terms or keywords that are suggested on "Sub-topics" pages in this guide under the tabs, "HC Subtopics I" and "HC Subtopics II" for more subject headings to search Rider's online book catalog.

Reference Works in Print

Here is a list of the principle reference works for Health and Health Care located in the Reference Room of Moore Library.  To see a more complete list of currently held books on this subject, see the results of a search on "      " as a subject heading in the Online Catalog.

 

Encyclopedias

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine:

REF HC41 .G35 2006

Dictionaries

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary

REF R121 .D73

Stedman's Medical Dictionary:

REF R121 .S8 2005

Dictionary of Syndromes and Inherited Diseases:

REF RC69 .G55 2000

General Reference Works

Health and Healthcare in the United States: County and Metro Area Data:

REF RA395 .A3 H43 2001

Health Care 2000: A Strategic Assessment of the Health Care environment in the United States:

REF RC 395 .A3 H43 2000

Johns Hopkins Family Health Book:

REF RC81 .J64 1999

Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals:

REF RS51 .M4

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy:

REF RM127 .M4

NICHM Health Care System Data Source:

REF RA410.53 .M55 1996

Our Bodies Ourselves for the New Century: A Book by and for Women:

REF RA778 .N67 1998

Physicians' Desk Reference:

REF RS75 .P5

Physicians' Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary Supplements:

REF RM671 .A1 P48

Statistical Abstract of the United States:

REF HA202 .S721