Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication and Journalism

Reference Books on this Topic

This books are in the Reference Room of Moore Library.

AV market place.

Call Number: LB1043 .A86

Bowker's complete video directory.

Call Number: PN1992.95 .V29

The Facts on File dictionary of television, cable, and video / Robert M. Reed and Maxine K. Reed.

Call Number: PN1992.18 .R44 1994

Gardner's film, video & TV dictionary / edited by Garth Gardner.

Call Number: TR847 .G37 2003

International television & video almanac.

Call Number: PN1992.1 .I57

A new pot of gold : Hollywood under the electronic rainbow, 1980-1989 / Stephen Prince.

Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 H55 vol.10

 

For other reference books that treat this subject, see page under the "Reference Works" tab.

Find Books on this Topic

To find books in the Rider library collection on this and related subtopics, go to the online catalog's Subject search page and enter (or cut and paste) any of the following subject headings.

Video recordings--Production and direction.

Video recordings industry

Then click on one of the more specific subject terms to see lists of books on each of those topics.

Databases That Contain Video, Audio, or Image Content

The following are Library subscription databases in media studies and news that contain significant online video, audio or image content:

Adforum

American History in Video

Includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s.

Factiva

Filmakers Library Online 

This online catalog of films from "American independents as well as filmmakers from all over the world" (for sale on this Web site) can serve as an index to documentaries.  Films are searchable by subject, title, director, or production company.  Check with a librarian to see if any of these films can be borrowed from the Rider libraries or from another library.

LexisNexis Academic

search limits available for:

  • "radio & broadcast transcripts"
  • "web publications"
  • "blogs"

See also freely available video sharing sites like:

  • fora.tv
    (free online access to youtube style programming, but videos have a more scholarly & professional focus)
  • hulu.com
    (free online access to hundreds of hours of NBC & Fox network TV programs and to popular movies, both clip segments and full shows/full movies.  Hulu content providers also include NBC Universal, MGM, Warner Bros. and more)
  • vimeo.com
    (another video sharing alternative to youtube)
  • youtube.com
    (perhaps the most well known video sharing site)

Web Sites on this Topic

Docuseek Film and Video Finder

Filmland the Dictionary

An extensive on-line reference of film, audio, and video terminology.

Contains a number of brief overviews of elements of video production.

ProductionHub,Inc.

"...Online resource and industry directory for film, television, video and digital media production. Developed as a tool for people to locate production products, services and professionals."

For other Web sites that may treat this subject, see page under the "Web Sites" tab.