Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication and Journalism

Reference Books on this Topic

The A to Z of African-American television / Kathleen Fearn-Banks.

Call number: PN1992.8.A34 F43 2009

Blacks in American films and television : an encyclopedia / Donald Bogle.

Call number: PN1995.9.N4 B58 1988

Encyclopedia of television / Museum of Broadcast Communications ; Horace Newcomb, editor.

Call number: PN1992.18 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of television shows, 1925 through 2007 / Vincent Terrace.

Call number: PN1992.3.U5 T463 2009

Encyclopedia of television subjects, themes and settings / Vincent Terrace.

Call number: PN1992.18 .T38 2007 

The Focal encyclopedia of film & television techniques.

Call number: TR847 .F62 1969

International television & video almanac.

Call number: PN1992.1 .I57

Les Brown's encyclopedia of television.

Call number: PN1992.18 .B7 1992

The New York times encyclopedia of television / Les Brown ; contributing editors, Richard Block ... [et al.] ; research, Kathryn Moody ... [et al.].

Call number: PN1992.18 .B7 1977

Television & cable factbook.

Call number: HE8700.4 .T453

For other reference books that treat this subject, see page under the "Reference Works" tab.

Find Books on this Topic

To find books in the Rider library collection on this and related subtopics, go to the online catalog's Subject search page and enter (or cut and paste) any of the following subject headings.

Television.

Then click on one of the more specific subject terms to see lists of books on each of those topics.

For books on specific topics related to television, used the Advanced Search page and enter the specific term in one search box and "television" in another search box.  Specify "within" Subject after each box.  For example:

Minorities (within Subject) AND television (within Subject)

Web Sites on this Topic

The Encyclopedia of Television (Museum of Broadcast Communications)

"Examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and such topics as violence, tabloid television and the quiz show scandal. It also includes histories of major television networks as well as broadcasting systems around the world and is complemented by resource materials, photos and bibliographical information."

Media Studies, TV, Radio and Media Watchers (Univ. of Iowa)

MediaCollege.com

A free educational website for all forms of electronic media, with hundreds of exclusive tutorials covering video & television production, audio work, photography, graphics, and web design, utilities, reference material (e.g. user manuals), industry news and a helpful forum

ProductionHub,Inc.

"...Online resource and industry directory for film, television, video and digital media production. Developed as a tool for people to locate production products, services and professionals."



For other Web sites that may treat this subject, see page under the "Web Sites" tab.