Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication and Journalism

Reference Books on this Topic


Dictionary of contemporary photography / by Leslie Stroebel & Hollis N. Todd

Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography / Lynne Warren, editor

The Focal dictionary of photographic technologies [by] D. A. Spencer

International photography : George Eastman House index to photographers, collections, and exhibitions / Andrew H. Eskind, editor ; Greg Drake, Kirsti Ringger, Lynne Rumney, associate editors.

Photography : a cultural history / Mary Warner Marien

Popular photography

The visual dictionary of photography / David Pra╠łkel.

For other reference books that treat this subject, see page under the "Reference Works" tab.

Find Books on this Topic

To find books in the Rider library collection on this and related subtopics, go to the online catalog's Subject search page and enter (or cut and paste) any of the following subject headings.

Photography

Then click on one of the more specific subject terms to see lists of books on each of those topics.

Databases That Contain Video, Audio, or Image Content

The following are Library subscription databases in media studies and news that contain significant online video, audio or image content:

Adforum

American History in Video

Includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s.

Factiva

Filmakers Library Online 

This online catalog of films from "American independents as well as filmmakers from all over the world" (for sale on this Web site) can serve as an index to documentaries.  Films are searchable by subject, title, director, or production company.  Check with a librarian to see if any of these films can be borrowed from the Rider libraries or from another library.

LexisNexis Academic

search limits available for:

  • "radio & broadcast transcripts"
  • "web publications"
  • "blogs"

Library Press Display

SCOLA

Television News Archive

See also freely available video sharing sites like:

  • fora.tv
    (free online access to youtube style programming, but videos have a more scholarly & professional focus)
  • hulu.com
    (free online access to hundreds of hours of NBC & Fox network TV programs and to popular movies, both clip segments and full shows/full movies.  Hulu content providers also include NBC Universal, MGM, Warner Bros. and more)
  • vimeo.com
    (another video sharing alternative to youtube)
  • youtube.com
    (perhaps the most well known video sharing site)

Web Sites on this Topic

Digital Journalist: A Multimedia Magazine for Photojournalism in the Digital Age

Documentary Photography - Duke University Libraries Digital Collection

MediaCollege.com

A free educational website for all forms of electronic media, with hundreds of exclusive tutorials covering video & television production, audio work, photography, graphics, and web design, utilities, reference material (e.g. user manuals), industry news and a helpful forum

Newseum

This website shows the front pages of hundreds of newspapers. Different countries are included. You can choose from thumbnail images to see a large, full-color copy. Use it to explore different styles in journalism.

ProductionHub,Inc.

"...Online resource and industry directory for film, television, video and digital media production. Developed as a tool for people to locate production products, services and professionals."

ScreenSite - Photography

Visual Communication - Visual Rhetorics


For other Web sites that may treat this subject, see page under the "Web Sites" tab.
 
For other Web sites that may treat this subject, see page under the "Web Sites" tab.