Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication and Journalism

Reference Books on this Topic

Literary adviser : selected reference sources in literature, speech, language, theater, and film / by Thomas P. Slavens.

Call No.:  P121 .S57 1985

Hoyt's New cyclopedia of practical quotations drawn from the speech and literature of all nations, ancient and modern, classic and popular, in English and foreign text.

Call No.:  PN6081 .H7 1940

She said/he said : an annotated bibliography of sex differences in language, speech and nonverbal communication / compiled by Nancy Henley and Barrie Thorne.

Call No.: Z7204.C59 H46 1975

Speech index; an index to 259 collections of world famous orations and speeches for various occasions.

Call No.:  AI3 .S85 1966

Speeches of the American Presidents

Call No.: J81 .C88 1988

For other reference books that treat this subject, see page under the "Reference Works" tab.

Find Books on this Topic

To find books in the Rider library collection on this and related subtopics, go to the online catalog's Subject search page and enter (or cut and paste) any of the following subject headings.

Public speaking

Speech

Then click on one of the more specific subject terms to see lists of books on each of those topics.

Web Sites on this Topic

Use this site to find other information about public speaking.


Database includes a speech bank "and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events, and a declaration or two."

"...A non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary women from around the world." Includes transcripts of speeches.



This directory of articles for improved communication skills includes 11 articles about "presentations and pitches". It focuses on business presentations for small business owners, but it can be applied to many presentations.

Tips on writing and presenting speeches. Also speech and debate resources for secondary education.

Organization's site that provides public speaking training.

For other Web sites that may treat this subject, see page under the "Web Sites" tab.