Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication and Journalism

Web Sites on Public Speaking

Web Sites and Gateways on Communication & Journalism


Ad*access

AdAge.com

American Film Institute

Among other resources, the site has a catalog of feature films from 1893-1972, lists of awards, information about film eduction, etc.

American Leaders Speak

American Rhetoric

Arbitron Radio Ratings & Media Research Info

Arbitron Inc. is a media and marketing research firm serving the media—radio, television, cable, and online radio—as well as advertisers and advertising agencies in the United States.

Arguments and Their Evaluation

Associated Press (AP)

Atlapedia Online (Maps and Country Data)

Contains political and physical maps in color, including facts and statistics on countries.

BBC News World Edition

Best Information on the Internet: Broadcasting

Center for Communication

The Center for Social Media (American University)

"The Center for Social Media showcases and analyzes media for public knowledge and action—media made by, for, and with publics to address the problems that they share"

CIOS McLuhan Website

Citizen Media Law Project: Legal Resources for Citizen Media

This site provides assistance, training, research, and other resources for individuals and organizations involved in online and citizen media. This project explores creative thinking about the intersection of law and journalism on the Internet. The website also provides legal guides and a free (pro bono) legal referral service.

Columbia Journalism Resources

The site offers thousands of resources of interest to Journalists.

Columbia Journalism Review

Communication as a Process

This website explores different theories of communication. it has brief summaries of these three models, with a chart for each one. Links provide further resources about the different theories.

Communication Theories Overview--Univ. of Twente (NL)

Overview of various communication theories at the academic level. This University of Twente site is in the Netherlands.

Communication Resources from the University of Iowa

Comprehensive guide to many resources by category within communications.

Computer and Communications Industry Association. "Economic Contribution of Industries Relying on Fair Use." September 2007

Copyright and Fair Use (Stanford Univ. Libraries)

"Emphasis is on copyright issues especially relevant to the education and library community, including examples of fair use and policies. Useful copyright charts and tools are continually added to help users evaluate copyright status and best practices.  Featured cases include full text of court documents of district court cases that The Center for Internet and Society Fair Use Project is involved with as well as other cases of high interest."

Council of Public Relations Firms 

Links to PR firms, including industry rankings.

Creating RSS Feeds

Use this article to learn how to create an RSS feed. You can link to the feed from your website.

Cyberjournalist

Dart Center of Journalism and Trauma

Digital Journalist: A Multimedia Magazine for Photojournalism in the Digital Age

Docuseek Film and Video Finder

Early Cinema

Editor & Publisher

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920

The Encyclopedia of Television (Museum of Broadcast Communications)

"Examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and such topics as violence, tabloid television and the quiz show scandal. It also includes histories of major television networks as well as broadcasting systems around the world and is complemented by resource materials, photos and bibliographical information."

Eserver.org


This is the web site for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission.

FactCheck.org

This group monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interview, and news releases.

FAIR

FAIR is the national media watch group offering well-documented criticism in an effort to correct media bias and imbalance.

Fair Use of Copyrighted Materials by Georgia Harper

The Copyright Crash Course, University of Texas at Austin Libraries

Film Sound.org

Sound design for films, animation, and games. Includes articles, tutorials, and examples of sound design.

Film Studies Resources

Filmland the Dictionary

An extensive on-line reference of film, audio, and video terminology.

First Amendment Handbook

Free Speech Movement

Freedom Forum Online

The Free Expression Policy Project - Copyright Issue

Free Management Library

A comprehensive resource to communication topics.

Gallup Organization

Provides market research and consulting services around the world. Publisher of the Gallup Poll, a widely recognized barometer of American opinion.

Gender, Ethnicity and Race in Mass Communication

General Communication Resources (organizations, resource directories, etc.)

A guide to the circumstances of fair use

University of Texas Systems Dept.

Health and Science Communication

History and Politics Out Loud

History Channel Speeches

Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resources Collections

Constructed by librarians, this site provides Internet resources that are relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains links to databases, electronic journals, electronic books, and mailing lists.

IndieWire: the leading source on independent film since 1996

Provides "news, information, and social networking for the international independent film community. Covers indie documentary and foreign language films, film festivals, interviews, reviews, weblogs and "tools for emerging and established filmmakers."

Institute for Public Relations: Research Topics

An independent non-profit that supports PR education and research.

Interpersonal and Small Group Communication (includes nonverbal communication)

Investigative Reporters and Editors, inc

IPL: Internet Public Library

Established and maintained by a consortium of academic schools of information and library science, this site provides links to information on a broad range of subjects. There is a search box to find your subject. Includes Communication sites.

iPOLL Databank

iPOLL's online database contains survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations.

Journalism & Mass Communication

Journalism Resources (compiled and edited by Karla Tonella, University of Iowa)

The Journalist's Toolbox

The Journalist's Toolbox - Environmental

Journalismjobs.com

Journalism.org. Project for Excellence in Journalism: Understanding News in the Information Age

A resource to journalism topics.

Limitations on exclusive rights: Fair use—from the US Copyright Office

Media and Communication Studies Site

Media History Project

"The Media History Project aspires to provide a comprehensive guide to all online materials relevant to the study, appreciation, and understanding of media history."

Media Center of the American Press Institute

A nonprofit think tank committed to building a better informed society.

Media Statistics and Public Opinion

Media Studies, TV, Radio and Media Watchers (Univ. of Iowa)

MediaCollege.com

A free educational website for all forms of electronic media, with hundreds of exclusive tutorials covering video & television production, audio work, photography, graphics, and web design, utilities, reference material (e.g. user manuals), industry news and a helpful forum

Mediacollege.com - Audio Production Tutorials

Contains a number of brief overviews of elements of audio production. They are also available as PDF files that students can print.

Mediacollege.com - Video Production Tutorials

Contains a number of brief overviews of elements of video production.

Mediamatters.org

a Web-based, not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) progressive research and information center dedicated to comprehensively monitoring, analyzing, and correcting conservative misinformation in the U.S. media.

Mediaweek

MIT Communications Forum

An online record of years of forums devoted to all aspects of communications including the Internet, online journalism, media and culture, media studies, new media, children's culture, and cultural studies.

Movie Review Query Engine

Newseum

This website shows the front pages of hundreds of newspapers. Different countries are included. You can choose from thumbnail images to see a large, full-color copy. Use it to explore different styles in journalism.

Newswise: Search Tools for Reporters

“ Newswise maintains a comprehensive database of current news, searchable archives, subscription wire services, and advanced information management tools to enhance the value and efficiency of research-based news delivery..."

NationMaster.Com ("Where Stats Come Alive!")

NationMaster is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations, including worldwide statistics on budgets of countries and other subjects. It is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD.

Newspaper Association of America

O'dwyer's PR Daily

Partial list of the largest pr firms

Overseas Press Club of America

Provides an excellent array of links to many national and international organizations as well as a "Link of the Month." Areas include: Government, Journalism, Human Rights, etc.

Pew Research Center

"The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues. In this role it serves as a valuable information resource for political leaders, journalists, scholars and citizens."

Political Communication

Polling Report

The web site for the bi-weekly newsletter Polling Report. This site provides polls from over 36 sources, including Gallup, Harris, Pew Research, and media organizations. Recent polls are listed in the center of the homepage.

Poynter Online

The Web site for the Poynter Institute, a non-profit school for journalism located in St. Petersburg, FL. "The Poynter Institute is a school dedicated to teaching and inspiring journalists and media leaders."

A Practical Guide to Fair Use Doctrine. Signal or Noise 2K5. Harvard University

ProductionHub,Inc.

"...Online resource and industry directory for film, television, video and digital media production. Developed as a tool for people to locate production products, services and professionals."

PRWeek.Com

Includes a searchable archive of editorials, news, industry research, and special reports.

Public Opinion Polls on the Internet (University of Miami Libraries)

Public Relations Society of America

Includes links to public relations resources, PRSA links, newspapers, magazines and broadcast outlets, corporate information and stock quotes, federal government and politics, and media sites.

The Pulitzer Prizes

This official site has all the information anyone would ever want about the Pulitzer Prize.

Radio-Locator
Use this website to find links to radio stations in the U.S. It can help you if you want to investigate career opportunities in radio. You can learn more about what stations are available in a city or state.
Radio.Indymedia.Org
Indymedia network's global radio site. Find links to grassroots worldwide independent radio projects, a live internet radio directory, aggregated listing of sound files published to Indymedia sites around the world, and open publishing of news & content.
RadioTime
Statements taken from the site:This place is all about you and others listening to what you want and wherever you want. RadioTime.com is your electronic guide to radio programming.
Covers the ethical responsibilities and legal rights of the mass media in a democratic society. The Silha Center is located at the University of Minnesota, Dept. of Journalism and Mass Communications.

Snopes.com

Describes itself as "an online touchstone of rumor research," a Web site that uncovers the truth or falsehood of "urban legends."

Social Science Resources

Society of Environmental Journalists

Speeches and Speechmakers

The State of the News Media

The Pew Research Center’s Project for Excellence in Journalism annual report.

STATS

Stephen's Guide to Logical Fallacies

Telecoms Virtual Library

The Telegrapher Web Page

U. S. Copyright Office: Fair Use

University of Iowa Dept. of Communications Studies Online: Media Studies

Usability.gov: Your Guide for Developing Usable and Useful Websites

This Website is managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The site includes a step-by-step guide to usability, guidelines, design, templates and examples.
"Web site of the Voice and Speech Trainers Association."
Virtual Institute of Information: Cybercommunications and Mass Media Research

The Virtual Institute of Information is a research tool accessible through the World Wide Web by anyone interested in finding information on the economic, business, policy, and social aspects of telecommunications, cybercommunications, and mass media.

Visual Communication - Visual Rhetoric

Web sites dealing with Visual Communication.  Provided by the University of Iowa.

Voice of America (VOA)

W3Schools Online

Includes Web-building tutorials making use of basic HTML and XHTML to advanced XML, SQL, Database, Multimedia and WAP. All tutorials are free.

WebMonkey: the Web Developers Resource

"Webmonkey is a free, public resource for web developers, builders, designers and programmers..." Tutorials include authoring, design, multimedia, e-business and programmings. JavaScript Library, HTML tags and more.