Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication and Journalism

Web-based Reference Sources

Online Encyclopedias

See also the Websites page of this guide.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of encyclopedias and other reference sources which covers a variety of topics, including communications and journalism.

Reference Works in Print

Here is a list of the principle reference works for philosophy located in the Reference Room of Moore Library.  To see a more complete list of currently held books on communication, see the results of a search on "communication" as a subject heading in the Online Catalog.

 

Encyclopedias

 

The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology / edited by Irving B. Weiner, W. Edward Craighead.

   Call Number: REF BF31 .E52 2010

Encyclopedia of American Journalism

Call Number: PN4855 .P26 1983


Encyclopedia of American Radio: An A-Z Guide to Radio from Jack Benny to Howard Stern

Call Number: PN1991.3 U6 L29 2000

Encyclopedia of communication and information / edited by Jorge Reina Schement.

   Call Number: P87.5 .E53 2002

Encyclopedia of communication theory / Stephen W. Littlejohn, Karen A. Foss, editors.

   Call Number: P87.5 .E496 2009

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications

Call Number: P87.5 .E532 2003


Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology

Call Number: QA76.575 .E5368 2003


Encyclopedia of Radio

Call Number: TK6544 .M84 2004


Encyclopedia of Television

Call Number: PN1992.18 .E53 2004


Focal Encyclopedia of Film & Television Techniques

Call Number: TR847 .F62 1969


World Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide

Call Number: PN4728 Q53 2003

Dictionaries

Broadcast Communications Dictionary

Call Number: PN1990.4. D5 1989


Complete Film Dictionary

Call Number: PN1993.45 .K66 1987


Filmmaker's Dictionary

Call Number: PN1993.45 .S56 2000


Focal Dictionary of Photographic Technologies

Call Number: TR9 .S77 1973b


Gardner's Film, Video & TV Dictionary

Call Number: TR847. G37 2003


Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations

Call Number: PN6084 .H8 O94 2001


Practical Media Dictionary

Call Number: P87.5 .O75 2003

Directories


Burrelle's Media Directory. New Jersey

Call Number: P88.8 .B85


Editor & Publisher International Year Book: the Encyclopedia of the Newspaper Industry

Call Number: PN4700 .E4 2004


Television & Cable Factbook

Call Number: HE8700.4 .T453

General Reference Works

Columbia Guide to Digital Publishing

Call Number: Z286 .E43 C65 2003


History of the American Cinema

Call Number: PN1993.5 U6 H55


History of the Mass Media in the United States

Call Number: P92. U5 H55 1998


International Motion Picture Almanac

Call Number: PN1993.3 I55 2004


Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature

Call Number: PN4731 .C38 1990


Media in Europe

Call Number: P92 .E9 M39 2003


Photography: A Cultural History

Call Number: TR15 .M273 2002


Reporter's Handbook: An Investigator's Guide to Documents and Techniques

Call Number: PN4781 .R38 1991


Speeches of the American Presidents

Call Number: J81 .C88 1988


World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook

Call Number: JZ1242 .W67 2002