Skip to main content

Management Sciences

Management Sciences

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs

Matilda/Voyager, Rider University Libraries Online Catalog

Search Matilda/Voyager for books, journals, government documents, videos, selected internet resources available to Rider University students at Moore Library on the Lawrenceville Campus and at Talbott Library on the Princeton campus.

WorldCat

"OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide."

Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete

This database includes a wide variety of business journals that cover "corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, " and many other topics. You can search some 1,300 journals for citations and abstracts. Full text is available online for approximately half of those journals.

Academic Search Premier

"Academic Search Premier provides full text from nearly 3,180 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, management science, language and linguistics, arts & literature."

Business Source Premier

An indexing and full-text database with scholarly and trade publications. Searchable by keyword, company name and NAICS codes among other options. Results are divided into categories, some of which are industry profiles, SWOT analyses and country reports. Company and industry profiles are provided by Datamonitor and country reports are provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit. The "Books/Monographs" category leads to entries from the Almanac of American Employers.

EconLit

EconLit is an index to working papers, disseratations and 650 journals in the field of economics since 1969.

Emerald Library

The Emerald Library contains full text of 130 journals from the fields of management, human resources, marketing, and similar disciplines.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive

JSTOR is a collection of journals from the the fields of arts, sciences, business, education, and social sciences. The archive begins with the first issue of most of these journals and continues to within the past three to five years.

Science Direct

"ScienceDirect is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information."

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage

Combines eleven of the investor information products from Standard and Poor's. Information available by company and by industry. Other useful products are Corporation Records; Industry Surveys; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.

Wilson Business Full Text

Indexes leading business magazines and trade and research journals, and includes the full text of selected periodicals. The abstracts range from 50 to 150 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage begins in January 1995."

General Reference Sources

Guides

Core business web: A guide to key information resources

Bibliographic record and links to related information from the Library of Congress catalog. Click here
Location: Moore Library-Reference Room Call Number: HD30.37 .C67 2003

Informed student guide to management science

For bibliographic record: Click Here
Location: Moore Library-Reference Room Call Number: T56.24 .D34 2002

Internet Resources

Selective Electronic Journals

Academy of Management Journal (JSTOR)

Applied Stochastic Models and Data Analysis

Applied Stochastic Models in Business and Industry

Bell Journal of Economics and Management Science

Benchmarking: An International Journal

Computers & operations research

Decision sciences

European management journal

Fuzzy optimization and decision making

Journal of management studies

Journal of Multi-Criteria Decision Analysis

Journal of Operations Management

Journal of Process Control

Journal of Quality Management

Journal of Statistical Planning and Inference

Journal of the Academy of Management

Management Science

Managerial and Decision Economics

Operations Research (continues Journal of the Operations Research Society of America)

OR/MS Today (Operations Research /Management Science Today

Strategic management journal

Websites

Batch Queueing Systems

This page describes several batch queueing systems available for free, or nearly so, on the Internet.

Decision/Risk Analysis

Links to Web resources dealing with decision and risk analysis. Includes sections on decision sciences, software, simulation modeling, conferences, and application areas.

Educational Programs In Operations Research

This site contains links to educational programs in Operations Research and the Management Sciences.

Michael Trick's Operations Research Page

A link to Operations Research related information, including conferences and online journals, people, institutes, and companies; jobs, newsgroups and mailing lists, operations research discussion (using HyperNews), and operations research chat.

Operations Management Information at Business.com

Information on operations management, including research, articles, and industry-related services.

Virtual Encyclopedia for OR/MS

World-Wide Web for Operations Research and Management Science

WORMS Virtual Encyclopedia

Periodical and Newspaper Subscriptions

News Sources

National Newspaper Index

National Newspaper Index indexes articles from America's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Coverage is from 1977 to the present. All five newspapers are available in Moore Library.

Wall Street Journal

Indexed and full-text back to 1984. In addition to keyword, the index is searchable by company name, product name and NAICS code. To reach this feature use "Advanced Search" and select from the drop-down box beside each search box.

Rider University

Career Information

What Can I Do With This Major?

A convenient website that helps you connect majors with careers. Each major contains an outline of common career areas, typical employers, and strategies designed to maximize career opportunities. Choose Links to find a list of websites that provide information about listed majors and related careers. Disclaimer: Please note that the websites listed under Links are not maintained by the Rider University Career Center but are provided as a convenience to students.

Faculty Publications

Management Sciences

The Rider University Faculty Publications Database is a bibliography and archive of works by Rider University faculty from 1956 to the present. It contains not only citations to published works, but also links to the text or media presentation when permissible.

Society, Agencies, and Organizations

Trades & Professional Associations

Academy of Management

British Academy of Management

Chartered Management Institute

Ergonomics Society

European Industrial Research Management Association

Institute for Operations Research and Management Sciences (INFORMS)

INFORMS serves the scientific and professional needs of OR/MS investigators, scientists, students, educators, and managers, by such services as publishing a variety of journals that describe the latest OR/MS methods and applications and by organizing professional conferences.

International Federation of Operational Research Societies (IFORS)

The International Federation of Operational Research Societies (IFORS) is an umbrella organization comprising the national Operations Research societies of over forty five countries from four geographical groupings: -- Asia Pacific -- Europe -- North America -- South America Total membership is over 25,000 persons. IFORS' mission is to promote Operations Research as an academic discipline and a profession.

Statistics and Data

Data Resources

FedStats

The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios

This database contains the XLT (Excel) and Acrobat® PDF (Acrobat Reader Portable Document Format) files, which correspond to forms in Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios. It is available through Moore Library's local area network. The printed form is located at the Reference Room call number: HF 5681 .R25 I525.

STAT-USA

Contains current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data. Information on retail sales, manufacturing, trade, inventories, industrial production and current industry reports, all for the US. This database is available from a CD-LAN workstation in the Moore Library Reference Room. For bibliographic information: Click here

Library Information

Moore Library

Moore Library is a comprehensive general library with heavy emphasis on business, education, language and literature, communication and science. A collection of video and DVD formats and the Riderana/University Archives provide special support. Located on Rider's Lawrenceville campus, the building is named for Franklin F. Moore.
Campus: Lawrenceville
Address Line 1: 2083 Lawrenceville Road
Telephone: 609-896-5115
Main URL: http://www.rider.edu/172_6148.htm
Hours URL: http://www.rider.edu/15478_6194.htm


Sharon (Qianqian) Yang' Associate Professor - Librarian
Office: Moore Library 333
Phone: 609-895-5730
Fax: 609-896-8029
Email:yangs@rider.edu


January,2009