Rider students may borrow books and other items from the Mercer County Library. Bring your Rider ID and a copy of your current class schedule to qualify for a library card.
Search MCL's catalog here.
Map from Rider to MCL's Headquarters off Darrah Lane (just down the road!)
Rider students also have borrowing privileges at The College of New Jersey Library. You make check out ten books at a time.
Search for books, DVDs/videos, and CDs/music
Parking at TCNJ: When you enter through the main entrance (off or Rt. 31/Pennington Rd.), bear to the right. You will see the entrance to Loser Hall and the info/visitor's booth on your left. Register at the info/visitor's booth.
When you search WorldCat, an international database of libraries' holdings, you will see whether Rider University Libraries owns the item. If we do not, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan (Delivery from Other Libraries). Delivery may take up to two weeks, depending on the item's location and availability, so give yourself enough lead time!
Google Books is a boon: You can search the full text of books for keywords, preview content, and in the case of of pre-1923 public domain titles, view the full text of and download the entire book--fantastic for historical research! Make sure to check the RU Libraries catalog to see if we own the title you need, and request the book through Interlibrary Loan (Delivery from Other Libraries) if we do not.
A library catalog is a searchable database that:
You can search for known or unknown items in a library catalog. That is, you can find a particular item--for example, a certain book or movie whose title or author you know--OR items that meet certain criteria (on a certain topic, in a certain language, are a certain format, etc.).
In the classic catalog interface, you can browse the index to do more precise searching.
This is helpul in finding items by composers or prolific writers, because the titles are listed alphabetically after the author.
Terms must be in exact order to be retrieved in an author (last name, first name), title, or subject search (unless you are in the advanced search):
an exact title match, such as girl with the dragon tatoo
an exact author match [last name, first name], such as Larsson, Stieg
an exact subject match, such as Missing persons--Fiction
Each item in the database is represented by a bibliographic record, which contains descriptive information about: