Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computer Information Systems

Computer Information Systems

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier

"Academic Search Premier provides full text from nearly 3,180 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies."

Directory of Open Access Journals: Computer Science

This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Science Direct

"ScienceDirect is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information."

Wilson OmniFile Full Text

Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition provides indexes, abstracts, and full text from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business FullText. Other full-text articles from additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literataure & Information Science Full Text.
The National Academies

The National Academies help change the way people think about computers, information technology, and public policy. They also advance specific recommendations for action. Additional impact includes expanding public policy awareness and enhancing insight into information technology.

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs

Find Full Text Journals

Find any or all journals available to the Rider Community.

Rider University Libraries Online Catalog

Search for books, journals, government documents, videos, selected internet resources available to Rider University students at Moore Library on the Lawrenceville Campus and at Talbott Library on the Princeton campus.

Internet Resources

Online Dictionaries

ComputerUser high-tech dictionary

Tech Dictionary - The online computer dictionary

Technology Dictionary

Online Encyclopedias

TechEncyclopedia

Webopedia

The only online dictionary and search engine you need for computer and Internet technology definitions.

Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - Computer science

Computer science (or computing science) is the study of the theoretical foundations of information and computation, and of practical techniques for their implementation and application in computer systems. It is frequently described as the systematic study of algorithmic processes that describe and transform information; the fundamental question underlying computer science is, "What can be (efficiently) automated?" Computer science has many sub-fields; some, such as computer graphics, emphasize the computation of specific results, while others, such as computational complexity theory, study the properties of computational problems. Still others focus on the challenges in implementing computations. For example, programming language theory studies approaches to describing computations, while computer programming applies specific programming languages to solve specific computational problems, and human-computer interaction focuses on the challenges in making computers and computations useful, usable, and universally accessible to people.

Online Full-text Databases

ABI/INFORM GLOBAL

ABI/INFORM Global: "Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal."

FAITS: Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies

This one-of-a-kind online technology reports database ... contains a virtual library of clearly-written reports covering such key technology areas as IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors

Search Engines

iTools : Search Engines

Quick access to the best Internet tools

Major Search Engines and Directories

In the search engine list below, Search Engine Watch provides a guide to the major search engines of the web. Why are these considered to be "major" search engines? Because they are either well-known or well-used.
For webmasters, the major search engines are the most important places to be listed, because they can potentially generate so much traffic.
For searchers, well-known, commercially-backed search engines generally mean more dependable results. These search engines are more likely to be well-maintained and upgraded when necessary, to keep pace with the growing web.

Metacrawlers and Metasearch Engines

Metacrawlers, unlike search engines, don't crawl the web themselves to build listings. Instead, they allow searches to be sent to several search engines all at once. The results are then blended together onto one page.

Periodical and Newspaper subscriptions

Electronic Journal Collections

Applied Science and Technology Full Text

"Turn here for fast, convenient access to the most important sources in applied science and technology-much of it from peer-reviewed journals. This database features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles."

Electronic Journal Titles

Journal of Digital Information

A peer reviewed, electronic journal supported by Texas A&M University Libraries.

News Sources

National Newspaper Index

National Newspaper Index indexes articles from America's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, and The Washington Post. Coverage is from 1977 to the present. All five newspapers are available in Moore Library.

The New York Times

Index and abstracts to New York Times since 1851.

Wall Street Journal

Indexed and full-text back to 1984. In addition to keyword, the index is searchable by company name, product name and NAICS code. To reach this feature use "Advanced Search" and select from the drop-down box beside each search box.

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software

NoodleTools

NoodleTools Generate, edit, and publish an MLA Works Cited list or APA References list that complies with the rules of the current MLA Handbook and APA Publication Manual. Starter and Advanced versions.The user's guide is also available for download. 

Writing Guides

Rider University Libraries: Avoiding Plagiarism

Societies, Agencies, and Organizations

Official Agency & Organization Websites

Association for Information Systems

The Association for Information System's "Electronic Library (AISeL) is an electronic repository for the ICIS and AMCIS conference proceedings. AISeL is a membership resource of AIS. Current AIS members can access the full text of all articles."

ACM: Association for Computing Machinery

ACM, the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the computing field's premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.

Australian Computer Society

British Computer Society

BCS is the leading professional body for those working in IT. We have over 64,000 members in more than 100 countries and are the qualifying body for Chartered IT Professionals (CITP).

American Electronics Association

Access to Investors;State, Federal & Government International Lobbying Insurance Services; Government Procurement; Business Networking; Foreign Marketing Access; Select Business Service and Excutive Education.

Association for Women in Computing

The Association for Women in Computing is a non-profit professional organization for women and men who have an interest in information and technology. The Association is dedicated to the advancement of women in the technology fields. You will discover a camaraderie in our group that you won't find in any other professional organization.

IEEE Computer Society

Most usability work has focused on improving user interfaces, but security is systemic, and negotiating, instituting, and maintaining real-world security procedures and practices is an organizational and social activity.

Information Technology Professional's Resource Center

The ITPRC was originally created in March of 1999 to provide a 'one-stop-shop' for information technology professionals to find technical information relating to data networking. As well as providing links to a vast collection of networking related information available on the net, the ITPRC provides routes to career management information and forums for IT professionals to interact. We also provide a growing catalog of on-site information and data covering the whole field.

Internet Society

The Internet Society is an independent international nonprofit organisation founded in 1992 to provide leadership in Internet related standards, education, and policy around the world.

National Science Foundation - Directorate for Computer & :Information Sciences & Engineering (CISE)

CISE Encourages Collaborations to Transform Network Science and Engineering.

International Society for Techonology in Education (ISTE)

ISTE is the premier membership association for educators and education leaders engaged in improving teaching and learning by advancing the effective use of technology in PK-12 and higher education.

Websites

Association for Computing Machinery

Founded in 1947, ACM is a major force in advancing the skills of information technology professionals and students worldwide. Today, our 80,000 members and the public turn to ACM for the industry's leading Portal to Computing Literature, authoritative publications and pioneering conferences, providing leadership for the 21st century.

Best Information on the Net - Computer Science

This site contains links to artificial intelligence, network administration, and general computer science sites.

Brint Resources on Management Information Systems Research

A good resource for business technology management and knowledge manangement.

CompInfo

The top one-stop reference resource for corporate IT, computer software, computers and communications Millions of IT users world-wide rely on our Web-based support resources.

Babel

A glossary of computer oriented abbreviations and acronyms

CiteSeer

"CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science." Document types available include citations to conference papers, technical papers, and journal articles.

Scirus

"Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. Driven by the latest search engine technology, Scirus searches over 250 million science-specific Web pages." Save, email, and export checked results.

Dr. Dobb's Journal

"Since 1976, Dr. Dobb's has led the computer press in covering practical technology. Our authors, like our readers, are professional software developers and architects who want to explore new technologies, argue over programming style, share tricks of the trade, and build world-class systems worldwide."

The Living Internet

A comprehensive history of the Internet and related technologies.

Programmers Heaven

Programming-related files and links.

Te Puna Web Directory: Computer Science and Information Technology

A directory of New Zealand computer science and information technology web sites.

Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology - Computing

Free access to high quality online resources evaluated and categorised by subject specialists at UK universities.

TechWeb

News, product reviews & material concerning emerging technologies.