Skip to main content

American Studies

American Studies

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Catalogs and Bibliographies

General Book Collection

Forecasting

Futures of American studies

Call Number: HV123.45 M678 2009

 

General Reference Sources

Almanacs

Almanac of American Politics

Call Number: JK1012 .A44

Biographical Sources

African American Writers

Call Number: PS153.N5 A344 2001

People and the arts in North America, summaries of biographical articles in history

Call Number: NX503 .P46 1988

Who's Who in American art

Call Number: N6536 .W5

Dictionaries

African Americans in the visual arts, by Steven Otfinoski

Call Number: E185.6 .F33 v.1

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Studies

Call Number: E169.1 .E625 2001

General

Album of American History

Call Number: E178  .A24

American Decades

Call Number: E169.1 .A471977 2004
Examines the changes in American civilization from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present

American National Biography

Call Number: CT213 .A68 1999

General Reference Works

America Votes

Call Number: JK1967 .A8

Famous American Crimes and Trials

Call Number: HV9950 .F36 2004

Photography: A Cultural History

Call Number: TR15 .M273 2002

History

American Women: A Library of Congress Guide

The site contains a slightly expanded and fully searchable version of the print publication American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States (Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 2001). The guide has been redesigned for online use, with added illustrations and links to existing digitized material located throughout the Library of Congress Web site. These materials are supplemented by a small number of newly digitized items that provide a sample of the many relevant types of materials available in Library of Congress holdings. The Research Guide also provides practical search tips, detailed collection summaries of the Library's voluminous multiformat holdings, and links to fuller catalog record descriptions and digitized material

 

[back to top]

Internet Resources

Databases

American FactFinder

Description: Gateway to the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, Annual Population Estimates and Annual Economic Survey. U.S. Census summary data is available in print, Ref. HA201.

Gateways & Megasites

Academic Info: United States History Gateway

Academic Info is a gateway to educational resources, providing links to general history directories, indexes, a U.S. history digital library, teaching materials, and Presidential libraries.

American Studies at the University of Virginia

This site contains several collections of primary source material. Selecting "Cultural Maps" will acess historical maps of the United States and list links to maps at other websites. Select the "30s" will give a menu of film, radio programs, bibliographies and features of life from the 1930's. Selecting "Hypertext" produces a list of United States literature containing works such as Emerson's "Representative Men" or Booker T. Washington's "Up from Slavery" or the WPA's "American Slave Narratives". All of the literary works have been digitalized and are available in full text.

American Studies Electronic Crossroads

The American Studies Electronic Crossroads (ASEC), a comprehensive, integrated, information platform on the World Wide Web maintained at Georgetown University by the Center for Electronic Projects in American Culture Studies (CEPACS). ASEC contains pedagogical, scholarly, and institutional information for the international American Studies Community, along with full information about the American Studies Association;

Political Database of the Americas

This database comes from the Georgetown University Center for Latin American Studies and is the major web source for Latin American political information. It contains constitutions and constitutional studies, electoral system information and election data, information from all branches of governments, and information about political parties.

Research Guides: Native American Studies

Womens Studies

he Women's Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, assembles this collection of resources. It includes, "a subject-arranged list of links, magazines and journals, Women's Studies programs/research centers/libraries/archives, organizations, book trade and reviews, course material, other mega-sites on women and gender, searching help, and more."

Womens Studies: Guide to Internet Resources

A mega-site from the University of Delaware, this site contains many of the types of resources cited above, and also links to electronic texts and gender related electronic forums.

Internet Directory

American History - New Scholarship on Women

Great site designed to offer quality sites on women's history, organized by time period and type of resource, plus a schedule of events.

American Studies Web Sites

American Studies Web Sites from the University of Canterbury leads the student to internet resources for American cultural studies, ethnic and regional resources, historical and literary e-texts, and 19th and 20th century resources.

Womens Studies Online Resources

Although much of the information on this site is related to the Women's Studies Program at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, it also contains links to gender-related electronic forums, general women's studies sites, the Center for Women and Technology, and many other Women's Studies programs.

Online Texts

African American Women Writers of the 19th century

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century is a digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920. A full text database of these 19th and early 20th- century titles, this digital library is key-word-searchable. Each individual title as well as the entire database can be searched to determine what these women had to say about "family", "religion", "slavery" or any other subject of interest to the researcher or casual reader. The Schomburg Center is pleased to make this historic resource available to the public.

American Cultural History - The Twentieth Century

This is a web-based guide to cultural trends in the decades from 1900 to 1999. Each decade has several chapters: art and architecture; books and literature; fads and fashion; education; historic events and technology; music; people and personalities; theatre and film; television; sports. It is written as a bibliographic essay with links to additional sources embedded in the text.

American Folklife Center (Library of Congress)

The American Folklife Center provides online access to selected portions of our collections. We create our own online presentations on various topics and the American Memory project provides additional online access to selected collections. Online content may include audio samples of music and stories, digital images of rare letters and photographs, and video clips.

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library

These electronic texts are "...taken from the Library of Congress special collections and consist of primary source and archival materials relating to US history and culture."

American Slave Narratives: an Online Anthology

This site offers selections from slave narratives gathered during the years 1936-1938 through interviews by memegbers of the WPA. It also provides related readings and links to similar sites.

Our Documents initiative

Access to 100 milestone documents of American history. These documents reflect our diversity and our unity, our past and our future, and mostly our commitment as a nation to continue to strive to "form a more perfect union."

PBS: Public Broadcasting Service

Search Engines

Metacrawler

MetaCrawler was originally developed in 1994 at the University of Washington by then graduate student Erik Selberg and Associate Professor Oren Etzioni. MetaCrawler uses innovative metasearch technology to search the Internet's top search engines, including Google, Yahoo! Search, MSN Search, Ask Jeeves, About, MIVA, LookSmart and more. With one single click, MetaCrawler searches the best results from the combined pool of the world's leading search engines -- instead of results from only one single search engine.

Websites

Art History Resources on the Web (Sweet Briar College)

New American Studies Web

The American Studies Web is the largest bibliography of web-based resources in the field of American Studies. this Pilot version of the New American Studies Web. The new version is a topical database of over 2,000 web-based resources in American Studies. 1. American Studies 2. Community Studies 3. Diaspora, Colonialism and Post-Colonialism 4. Economy 5. Education 6. Environmental Studies and Nature 7. Folklore and Anthropological Studies 8. Frontier and Borderlands Studies 9. Gender, Sexuality, and the Body 10. Government, Politics and Current Affairs 11. History and Historical Culture Studies 12. Literature and Text Studies 13. Material Culture 14. Museum Studies 15. Music and Performance 16. Nationalism and Postnationalism 17. Philosophy 18. Popular Culture and Media Cultures 19. Race, Ethnicity, and Identity 20. Regional Studies 21. Religion and Religious Cultural Studies 22. Science and Technology 23. Social Movements and Sociological Studies 24. Teaching and Learning 25. Theory and Methodology 26. Visual Culture 27. War and Imperialism 28. Working Class and Labor Studies

Public Opinion Polls on the Internet (University of Miami Libraries)

Smithsonian Institution -History and Culture

Fields: - Archaeology and Ancient Cultures - Biographies - Cultural Identity and Interaction - Economics and Work - Exploration and Travel - History of Science and Technology - Media and Leisure - Military and War - Politics and Law - Religion - Smithsonian Institution Regions and Cultures: - African - African American - American - American Indian - Asian and Pacific - Asian Pacific American - Latino - European

Periodical and Newspaper subscriptions

Electronic Journal Collections

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive

JSTOR is a collection of journals from the the fields of arts, sciences, business, education, and social sciences. The archive begins with the first issue of most of these journals and continues to within the past three to five years.

Project MUSE

Currently, Project MUSE offers nearly 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. ...Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others." Project MUSE includes the full content of each journal with the exception of advertisements.

American Studies International

Journal of American Culture

 

[back to top]

Primary Source Materials

Archival Materials

American decades primary sources

For bibliographic information : Click here

Historical Documents

American Memory

American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections on topics as wide-ranging as agriculture, art & architecture, business & economics, geography, performing arts, religion, sports, and technology.

American Studies at the University of Virginia

This site contains several collections of primary source material. Selecting "Cultural Maps" will acess historical maps of the United States and list links to maps at other websites. Select the "30s" will give a menu of film, radio programs, bibliographies and features of life from the 1930's. Selecting "Hypertext" produces a list of United States literature containing works such as Emerson's "Representative Men" or Booker T. Washington's "Up from Slavery" or the WPA's "American Slave Narratives". All of the literary works have been digitalized and are available in full text.


American Women's History: A Research Guide

This site is sponsored by Middle Tennessee University and contains links to various digital archives for women's history.

From Revolution to Reconstruction (Documents)

Primary sources and transcripts from 1400 to the present chronologically arranged.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1775-2000

"Organized around a collection of over 750 primary documents, the Women and Social Movements websire offers new ways for students, teachers, and scholars to study American History".

Women Working, 1870-1930

Provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections. This collection explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. Working conditions, conditions in the home, costs of living, recreation, health and hygiene, conduct of life, policies and regulations governing the workplace, and social issues are all well documented. The collection currently contains 2,850 books and pamphlets, 1,125 photographs, and 7,489 pages from manuscript collections.

Rider University

Career Information

What Can I Do With This Major?

A convenient website that helps you connect majors with careers. Each major contains an outline of common career areas, typical employers, and strategies designed to maximize career opportunities. Choose Links to find a list of websites that provide information about listed majors and related careers. Disclaimer: Please note that the websites listed under Links are not maintained by the Rider University Career Center but are provided as a convenience to students.

 

Societies, Agencies, and Organizations

Official Agency & Organization Websites

American Society for Aesthetics

Description: The American Society for Aesthetics is an association for aesthetics, criticism, and theory of the arts. The purpose of the Society is to promote study, research, discussion, and publication in aesthetics.

 

Trade & Professional Associations

American Society of Criminology

American Sociological Association

American Studies Association

Chartered in 1951, the American Studies Association now has more than 5,000 members. They come from many fields: history, literature, religion, art, philosophy, music, science, folklore, ethnic studies, anthropology, material culture, museum studies, sociology, government, communications, education, library science, gender studies, popular culture, and others. They include persons concerned with American culture: teachers and other professionals whose interests extend beyond their specialty, faculty and students associated with American Studies programs in colleges and secondary schools, museum directors and librarians interested in all segments of American life, public officials and administrators concerned with the broadest aspects of education. They approach American culture from many directions but have in common the desire to view America as a whole rather from the perspective of a single discipline.

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Style Manuals

NoodleTools & Style Guides

 

 

Library Information

Moore Library

Moore Library is a comprehensive general library with heavy emphasis on business, education, language and literature, communication and science. A collection of video and DVD formats and the Riderana/University Archives provide special support.
Located on Rider's Lawrenceville campus, the building is named for Franklin F. Moore.

Address: 2083 Lawrenceville Road, Lawrenceville, NJ 08648
Telephone: 609-896-5115 (Reference/Information Desk)
Main URL:  http://library.rider.edu
Hours URL:https://www.rider.edu/academics/libraries/moore/hours-directions


Robert Congleton Liaison to History, Political Science, Philosophy, and American Studies
Office: Moore Library 328
Phone: 609-896-5248
Fax: 609-896-8029
rcongleton@rider.edu