Skip to Main Content
Rider University Library

Music - Reference Resources

About QuickGuide Reference

QuickGuide Reference is not a comprehensive listing of resources in Talbott Library's reference section. Instead, it is a selective list of the most often used/asked for resources presented in a series of pull-down menus within this tab. If you don't see something you need, ask a reference librarian!

QuickGuide Reference

The book of 101 opera librettos: complete original language texts with English translations / edited by Jessica M. MacMurray ; with plot summaries by Allison Brewster Franzetti. REF ML48 .B66 1996

French opera libretti: in three volumes / with International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions, word for word translations, including a guide to the IPA and notes on the French transcriptions by Nico Castel ; foreword by Beverly Sills ; illustrations by Eugene Green. REF ML48 .F746

German miscellaneous opera libretti: with international phonetic alphabet transcriptions, word for word translations, a guide to the IPA and notes on the German transcriptions / by Nico Castel ; illustrations by Eugene Green ; foreword by Thomas Hampson ; edited by Marcie Stapp. REF ML48 .G47 2005

Italian belcanto opera libretti: in three volumes / with International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions and word for word translations, including a guide to the IPA and notes on Italian phonetics by Nico Castel ; edited by Scott Jackson Wiley ; foreword by Dame Joan Sutherland. REF ML48 .I83 2000

Italian verismo opera libretti: in two volumes : with International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions and word for word translations, including a guide to the IPA and notes on Italian phonetics / by Nico Castel ; edited by Scott Jackson Wiley ; foreword by Plácido Domingo. REF ML48 .I88 2000

General music history resources

The Harvard dictionary of music. Ed. by Don Michael Randel. REF ML100 .R15 2003

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart; allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik (also known as the MGG). Ed. by Friedrich Blume. REF ML100 .M97

The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians. Ed. by Stanley Sadie. REF ML100 .N42 (also available online)

Baker's dictionary of music. By Nicolas Slonimsky, Ed. by Richard Kassell. REF ML100 .Sl54 1997

Music abbreviations: a reverse dictionary. By Donald L. Hixon. REF ML100 .H59 2005

 

World music

The Garland encyclopedia of world music in eight volumes. Ed. by Bruno Nettl and Ruth M. Stone. REF ML100 .G37 1998 (Accompanying CDs: MEDIA ML100 .G37 1998)

The encyclopedia of American music. By Edward Jablonski. REF ML106 .Un3Ja

 

Opera

The New Grove dictionary of opera. Ed. by Stanley Sadie and Christina Bashford. REF ML102.O6 N4 1992

Who's who in opera: a guide to opera characters. By Joyce Bourne, Ed. by Michael Kennedy. REF ML102.O6 B68 1998

Historical dictionary of the Broadway musical. By William A. Everett and Paul R. Laird. REF ML102.M97 E94 2008

Nico Castel's translations of opera libretti: browse in REF ML48-ML 49

 

Sacred Music

The A to Z of sacred music. By Joseph P. Swain. REF ML102.S2 S93 2010

Historical dictionary of sacred music. By Joseph P. Swain. REF ML102.C5 S83 2006

 

Music Technology

The Routledge guide to music technology. Ed. by Thom Holmes. REF ML102.S67 R68 2006