The Last Black Man in San Francisco

Rider Universities Library has access to over 200 databases. Not all of them will be relevant to your research topic.

When searching in a database, use Advance search to take advantage of automatically linking your search terms by Bolean Operators the AND, OR or NOT connection options. Advanced search also allows you to search by subject, author, title, and more. Basic Search is only keyword. Full-Text articles are indicated by HTML or PDF notes that appear under each search result. 

Databases Recommended for your assignment

One Search

Cross-searches all of the library's resources, including books, ebooks, scores, streaming audio and video, journal articles, other electronic resources, and more!

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today's most important issues. Each report is on a single topic—more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies. Each weekly issue provides up-to-date information on controversial subjects written by CQ's staff of experienced reporters.

Points of View Reference Center  

Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).

Gale Virtual Reference Library 

A collection of encyclopedias and other reference sources which covers a variety of topics including history, literature, gender and sexuality, religion, the arts, and sciences. Specialized encyclopedias are written by experts in the field and will provide you with both overviews of and context for your topic while suggesting narrower topics to explore as well. Encyclopedias are a great way to learn about the different points of view on a subject, and the terminology being used in discussing the topic.

Credo Reference 

Credo Reference provides access to 600+ encyclopedias, handbooks, guides and dictionaries. These reference works cover a wide swath of topics including, science and medicine, history and cultural studies, business, education, and much more.

Academic Search Premier

This is a large, interdisciplinary resource; there are many articles available full text.