Research Guides: BHP-150 (Harris & Newman, Spring 2023): Database Searching Basics

Hints

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing indexing and abstracts for more than twice as many active, peer-reviewed, business related journals as any other database. Business Source® Premier offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. This database includes searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text™ provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive education database. Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Gender studies - scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports

This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new window
The PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Subject: Psychology
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is a database that covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes over 750,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. The content also consists of international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more

Harris & Newman

BHP 150

Final Research Essay

First Draft Due: April 22nd or April 24th

Final Draft Due: May 1

Your final 6-8-page essay should respond to your overarching question with a focused argument that is supported by reasons and evidence from your research. Your argument may do one (or more) of the following:

· Participate in an active debate by supporting one side, explaining why, offering evidence, and addressing counterarguments or alternative perspectives;

· Propose a solution to an ongoing problem using evidence and addressing other possible solutions;

· Bring two things together that are rarely seen as connected and explain their connection and why it is important using supporting evidence;

· Explain and analyze the causes of a problem considering and evaluating multiple ideas about these causes;

· Offer an original interpretation of a text or texts (literary, film, television, video game etc.) that also emphasizes the relevance of those text(s);

Your paper should include a Works Cited page in MLA or bibliography in APA or Chicago that lists all of the primary and secondary sources you referenced in alphabetical order. You may use relevant and reliable sources that were not included in your annotated bibliography or research exploration essay as well. You may also use personal experience (and, of course, first-person “I”) as relevant to forward your argument.