Skip to Main Content

CMP-125 (Muzyk, Spring 2023)

Access Refworks

What is RefWorks?

  • RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files, online databases and other sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography. 
  • Rider University Libraries has purchased a license to RefWorks so there is no fee to use the program for Rider students, faculty, or staff.

Export to RefWorks from the Library Catalog

Screenshot from Encore  record highlighting quotation mark icon

When viewing a record in the library catalog, click on the quotation icon on the right hand side.

Getting Started

Click "Use login from my institution"

 

refworks screenshot -box around use login from institution

2.  Find Rider University on the list.

refworks screenshot - rider found on list

 3. Log in with your Rider Key. Use your full email address on this screen.

 

If you have already signed up for an account and want to use SSO, please follow the instructions shown below:

In the upper right hand corner, click the triangle next to your name to open the user menu, select Settings. 

screenshot refworks - settings

 

2. Under Institution credentials, click Associate Credentials

refworks screenshot of associate

3. Login with your Rider Key. Use your full email address on this screen.

Image of sign in screen. Rider University Logo. Below: Sign in: Use your full Rider email address. Links: Can't access your account? Sign-in options. Buttons: Back, Next

4. A confirmation will appear at the top of your refworks screen.

confirmation refworks associated

1. When you are in a library database viewing a database record, click Export on the left-hand side. 

Screenshot of an article record in an Ebscohost database with a arrow point to Export to Refworks on the right hand side.

 

2. Then choose Direct Export to RefWorks and click Save. 

Screenshot of Ebscohost Export Manager

 

3.  Click "Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks

screenshot continue exporting to RefWorks?

4.  Click use Login from my institution. Find Rider University on the list.

refworks screenshot -box around use login from institution

refworks screenshot - rider found on list

 

Sign in: use your full Rider email address. Links below: can't access your account; sign-in ptions. Buttons: Back, Next

 

 

5.  RefWorks will import your citation

 Refworks import complete screenshot

 

6. Now you can work with your citations - arrange them in folders, etc. But probably the most exciting is Creating a bibliography.

Select the citations you wish to include. Click Create Bibliography. 

Screenshot refworks

 

7. Search or select a citation style

RefWorks Screenshot with citation style pulldown.

 

When you are in Refworks, select your citations

Screenshot of refworks

 

There are several options for citation styles. We recommend APA Sentence Casing, DOI: https://doi.org 

For education, psychology, and other social sciences. 

APA bibliography

RefWorks has plugins that greatly improve your experience and efficiency.

To access, log in to your RefWorks account

1. On the upper right-hand side, select the triangle next to your name to open the user menu and select Tools. 

Screenshot of refworks.

 

Save to Refworks 

SImply drag the button and place it on your bookmarks bar

 

Screenshot of refworks plugins page

 

While viewing a website you'd like to save to Refworks, click the "Save to Refworks" bar on your bookmarks bar. A panel will appear on the right, with some information filled it, allowing you to complete the form and save it to your Refworks account.

screenshot - website being saved to refworks

Refworks has plugins which greatly improve your experience and efficiency.

To access, log in to your Refworks account

1. On the upper right-hand side, select the triangle next to your name to open the user menu and select Tools. 

Screenshot of refworks.

 


Scroll past the Save to Refworks bookmark bar to "Cite references in your word processor" 

screenshot of refworks tools page -cite references in your word processor on MS word tab

If you have Office 32-bit, click to install.  If you have another version, select Other Windows and Mac Versions.  Not sure what you are running?   Click here

Find the appropriate file, click it and it will start to download.  Once it is downloaded, find it in your downloads, double click to install, follow the instructions. 

screenshot - downloads and install refworks

 

Once the plugin is installed, restart Microsoft Word. A new ribbon will appear in your toolbar at the top.