BHP 150 Essay 2 Bibliography Assignment
After you have gotten your Hamlet proposal approved, you will need to begin finding sources for your paper and crafting your bibliography. Using the Rider Library’s resources, you need to locate at least 3 peer-reviewed, scholarly sources appropriate for your topic.
You will then create an annotated bibliography based on the sources you have chosen. An annotated bibliography includes a full citation of the work you are using as well as a brief description of the contents of the work such as identification of the main argument, scope of the contents, and/or how it might fit in with your proposed project. Completing this assignment will encourage you to find good sources you know you can use before the essay due date, so that you don’t rush to complete the essay at the end and turn in sloppy work. This will also help you to manage your time wisely during finals week when you have other assignments due.
Please follow the checklist below in the Google or Word Doc you intend to submit to Canvas. This assignment is due April 18th. Make sure you post your annotated bibliography to Canvas before class AND turn in a hard copy at the beginning of class.
Bibliography checklist
Put your name on the paper
Begin with “Annotated Bibliography” centered at the top (no underlines, do not bold or italicize it, don’t put it in quotations)
Include the full citation for your 3 peer-reviewed, scholarly sources
Use hanging indent for each of the 3 sources. Do not use hanging indent for your notes on the annotated item.
Make sure your bibliography is in alphabetical order by author last name.
Follow an approved and consistent citation style. Refer to the OWL handbook for help with different types of sources.
Remember to use a normal, 12-point font.
Remember that different sources serve different needs.
BOOKS
ARTICLES
The citation information in the library databases will tell you.
The example below uses a citation found in Library One Search as an example; other databases vary.
1. Icons in the result list next to the citation should tell you what you are looking at, but you can click on the article title to go the full citation, where you can learn more information.
2. This brings you the full record view, where you can see your "document type" (article), subject terms, an abstract (summary), and the ISSN (international standard serial number) of the journal, a unique number used to identify it worldwide.
To learn more about the "source" itself, click on the hyperlinked journal title (or in some cases [journal detail] at the end of the "Source" line.) From the initial results screen, we already know it is an academic journal. But is it peer-reviewed? What topics does it publish? Click on the title of the "Source" to find out.
3. This is the record for the source "Hypatia," the journal in which the article above was published. We learn that this is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes on feminist philosophy.
4. If we click on the publisher link, or Google the journal title and publisher combination, we are taken to the journal's home page, where we can learn even more about it, if we like, such as its aims and scope.
This is the record for Hypatia when we search in our publications database, found under the blue Journals button on the library home page. Here we get basic information, such that is is peer-reviewed and that its publisher is Cambridge. We also learn its subject scope.
Ulrichsweb can answer your question!
The Rider University Libraries subscribes to a database called Ulrichsweb that gives detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
You can search by journal title, keyword, ISSN number, and subject area.
Below is the record for a journal called Marvels & Tales. This record tells you that Marvels & Tales is an academic or scholarly journal that is peer-reviewed.
