Research Guides: CMP-120 (Toro, Fall 2021): Individual Databases

Individual or Specialized Databases

Specialized Databases
Example: PsycInfo

Except for ABI-Inform, the databases below are also included in Library One Search.

The benefit to searching them individually is that each has its own subject vocabulary to express certain concepts, as well as different categories to limit by specific to the discipline.

Also, you will have a smaller set of results, so it may be easier to figure out what it is available and how it is being described.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
(Business)
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing indexing and abstracts for more than twice as many active, peer-reviewed, business related journals as any other database. Business Source® Premier offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. This database includes searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new window The PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Subject: Psychology
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
(Education)
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Education Full Text™ provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window Humanities Full Text™ includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

PsycInfo has articles pertaining to ethnic studies, but the term "ethnic studies" is not a subject term used in this psychology database. "Ethnic studies" appears in the title, but not in the subject headings. The terms boxed in red are some of the terms of what indexers use for this concept in this database: "educational programs" and "racial and ethnic socialization."

"Ethnic studies" is typed in the first search box. The first result shows the words "ethnic studies" in the title, but not in the subject. Educational programs and "racial and ethnic socialization" are boxed in red, to show these are the subject terms applied in this database for the concept of "ethnic studies"

We can see here, in the full record, that "ethnic studies" is also an author-supplied keyword.