Research Guides: Copy of CMP-125 ( Constantino, Fall 2020): Databases

Home

Recommended Database

Interdisciplinary

Library One Search (library home page link)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This is a large, interdisciplinary resource; there are many articles available full text. Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Interdisciplinary resource.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today's most important issues. Each report is on a single topic—more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies. ... Each weekly issue provides up-to-date information on controversial subjects written by CQ's staff of experienced reporters.

News

Access World News This link opens in a new window With over 12,000 sources, this comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as social issues, politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. A few highlights are: -12,000+ sources locally, regionally, nationally, and globally. -7,400+ U.S. sources from all 50 states. -4,500+ international sources, covering 210+ different countries. -185+ New Jersey sources, including print, web-edition, and full color PDF image editions. -181 full color PDF image editions, including The Newark Star-Ledger, Trenton Times, and Philadelphia Inquirer. Each day, that day’s edition feeds into the database in full color, with all the images, pictures, ads, graphs, etc. These are keyword searchable and browsable.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Connection Information: First-time users, please select “Create Account” to create an NYTimes.com personal account. After creating your account, you may use it to log into NYTimes.com and The New York Times app from any location on any device. NYTimes.com provides full access to all New York Times digital content, including news, multimedia, reviews, opinions, blogs, videos, podcasts, and newsletters. You may use your account to email, share, and comment on content. NYTimes.com includes all articles published from 1851 to the present. Many articles published between September 18, 1851 and December 31, 2002 are viewed using the TimesMachine interface, which displays full-page newspaper images. TimesMachine articles may be viewed in the browser or downloaded as PDFs. For the years 1923-1980, patrons are limited to viewing or downloading 5 PDFs per 24-hour period. The New York Times app is available on a wide range of devices. The app primarily provides access to current content; it does not include all the historic articles found at NYTimes.com.

Business Topics

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier is the world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing indexing and abstracts for more than twice as many active, peer-reviewed, business related journals as any other database. Business Source® Premier offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. This database includes searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news This database is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. A list of the subjects used in the database is available at the reference desk in Moore Library.

Medical

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window "CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. ... CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers."
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new window The PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Subject: Psychology
PubMed This link opens in a new window The world's largest biomedical database, freely available on the Internet.

Education

ERIC This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive education database. Access provided by the New Jersey State Library.

Copy of CMP-125 ( Constantino, Fall 2020)

Useful Research Guides

Instruction & Emerging Technologies Librarian

Need Research Help?

Home