Research is inquiry and focusses on problems and solutions to solve.
(http://www.ala.org/acrl/sites/ala.org.acrl/files/content/issues/infolit/Framework_ILHE.pdf)
Next, find information about your topic.
The links below connect you to articles and newspapers, books, websites, videos, and more
Also look for additional links that pertain directly to your class section.
Depending on what you find, you might need to revise your topic or search strategy.
If you are having trouble finding information on your topic, always feel free to ask a librarian!
Scholarly - Also known as academic, refereed, or peer-reviewed journals
Popular - Also known as general interest magazines
Trade Magazines - Also known as professional or industry journals, newsletters, or magazines
"CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today's most important issues."
"Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue."
From the Libraries' home page select Databases & Indexes. From here you can browse databases by SUBJECT or ALPHABETICALLY.
The following are selected databases that might be helpful in your research. There may be more; check the links above.
|
For the SUBJECT/APPROACH: |
CONSULT THE DATABASE:
|
|
INTERDISCIPLINARY |
OmniFile Full Text Mega (includes Humanities FT, Social Sciences FT and others) |
|
BUSINESS |
|
|
COMMUNICATION |
|
|
EDUCATION |
|
|
GENDER |
|
|
HISTORY |
America: History and Life (U.S./Canada) Historical Abstracts (non-U.S.) |
|
LEGAL |
|
|
LITERATURE |
MLA International Bibliography |
|
NEWSPAPERS |
|
| PERFORMING ARTS | |
|
POLITICAL SCIENCE |
|
|
PSYCHOLOGY |
|
|
PHILOSOPHY/RELIGION |
|
|
SCIENCES |
|
|
SOCIAL SCIENCES |
Found the perfect article but there is no link to the full text? We might have access through another database.
OR
If you have a citation for a journal article you want to get, use the Find Journals link to see if the Libraries own or have access to the print or electronic versions of the journal title. Here's how to check.The example below is to find full text articles in the New York Times newspaper.
In many databases, you can quickly review articles, then send them to a folder to review, print or email to yourself at once. The example below is a search conducted in Academic Search Premier, and the highlighted folder can be clicked on to add item #4 into the folder.
In Academic Search Premier, the folder collects the added articles and can a box can be viewed at the top of the search page; clicking on the folder reveals all of the articles that have been saved to be printed or emailed later.
