Skip to Main Content
Rider University Libraries

Databases: Choosing & Using

Learn how to find which library databases are the best for searching on your topic and how to use the databases to your advantage--saving you time and energy!

Choosing a Database

Rider University Libraries subscribe to over 100 databases, where you can find citations and obtain access to reliable, quality, and proprietary information, popular, trade, and scholarly.

  • newspaper, magazine, and journal articles

  • white papers

  • company reports

  • statistics

  • book chapters/book articles

  • encyclopedic and factual information

  • streaming music and video.

Databases can be interdisciplinary (spanning several disciplines) or subject-specific (focusing on a particular discipline, such as history, psychology, or literature.)

From the Libraries' homepage select the "Databases" button. 

Screenshot of library.rider.edu with a purple arrow pointing to the orange databases button (middle left bottom)

 

OR click choose Databases link under "Find" in the menu bar at the top.

Screenshot of library website. The File tab is opened and an arrow points to databases in the menu

 From here you can browse databases by Subject or Alphabetically.

screenshot of library databases listing

 

 

For more guidance on the best databases for your topic, visit a Research Guide for your subject/discipline.

 

screenshot of library website with arrow pointing to the research guides button (bottom right)

 

 

 

Screenshot of guides.rider.edu