Skip to main content

Government Resources

Federal Documents

This is the section of the U.S. government which is responsible for executing laws.  The executive branch consists of the President, the Vice President, the Cabinet, all the executive departments, and several administrative agencies.

Congress is the legislative branch of the federal government. It consistes of the House of Representatives and the Senate. The consent of both chambers is required to pass any legislation, which then may only become law by being signed by the President. If the President vetoes such legislation, however, both houses of Congress must then re-pass the legislation, but by a two-thirds majority of each.

  • is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
  • U.S. Senate
    Main site for the U.S. Senate with links to Senators, committees, legislation, nominations, and more.
  • U.S. House of Representatives
    Main site for U.S. House with links to Representatives, committees, legislation, and more.
  • Legislative Resources
    Internet resources including Historical Information with links to primary documents such as the Constitution, Declaration of Independence, and the Congressional Serial Set, glossary, district maps, and State and Local resources.
  • Congressional Hearings
    Congressional committees hear testimony related to proposed legislation, nominations, or oversight. Witnesses can include experts, lobbyists, or other members of congress. Full text can be searched or browsed from 1995 forward.
  • Congressional Record
    The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. Online from 1994 forward.
  • Government Accountability Office (GAO)
    GAO is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. The GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. Go to Reports and Testimonies and browse by date, subject, or agency.

The judicial branch of  the U.S. government is made up of the court system, with the Supreme Court as the highest court whose members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

  • United States Supreme Court
    This site contains information about the U.S. Supreme Court and provides access to Recent Decisions.
  • U.S. Courts
    Links to U.S. Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, District Courts, and Bankruptcy Courts. In many cases, current decisions are available.
  • Legal Information Institute
    Search for state, federal, and international laws by subject area and other access points. This website is maintained by Cornell Law School.
  • FindLaw
    FindLaw's Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. 
  • Supreme Decisions since 1760 From FindLaw. 
  • US Supreme Court Sliplists, 2009-Forward
    Prior to the publication of the print volumes of US Reports, the preliminary slip opinions are available here.
  • Judicial Business Of The U.S. Courts
    A comprehensive set of statistical tables describing the US courts system from 1997 forward.
Loading ...