CMP-125 (Titus, Spring 2011)

Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource.  Search all subjects or choose a specific subject.  Browse subject areas and titles.

Includes:

English Dictionaries & Reference
    English Dictionaries & Thesauruses
    English Language Reference
   
Bilingual Dictionaries
   
Quotations 
   
Maps & Illustrations 
   
Timelines     

Encyclopedia 
   
Subject Reference
    Art & Architecture
    Biological Sciences
    Classics
    Computing
    Earth & Environmental Sciences
    Economics & Business
    Food & Drink
    History
    Law
    Literature
    Medicine
    Military History
    Mythology & Folklore
    Names & Places
    Natural History
    Performing Arts
    Physical Sciences & Mathematics
    Politics & Social Sciences
    Prehistory
    Religion & Philosophy
    Science

Facts on File History Database Cross-search

We subscribe to all of the Facts on File History databases below. You can search them all at once here!

American History Online is a comprehensive and authoritative reference to the most important individuals, events, and topics in U.S. history. The thousands of entries—topical entries, biographies, maps, timeline entries, primary source documents, and images—are hyperlinked and allow users a path to related entries. Extensive overview essays provide detail on each time period.

African-American History Online is a comprehensive reference database, covering more than 500 years of African-American history—from the slave trade to the Civil Rights movement to the present day. Thousands of extensively hyperlinked and informative entries include topical entries, biographies, primary source documents, images, timelines, and maps and charts.

American Women's History Online is an authoritative reference database, extensively hyperlinked, providing thousands of entries—biographies, topical entries, maps, timelines, tables and charts, primary sources, and images—that are essential to understanding the experiences of women throughout U.S. history.

Modern World History Online covers the important people and events of world history from the age of exploration in the mid-15th century through the modern era. Topical entries, biographies, maps, primary source documents, and timeline entries provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, and events that have defined world history.
 
American Indian History Online is an authoritative reference database that provides in-depth coverage of more than 5,000 years of culture, legends, and leaders. More than 500 Native American groups are covered in hyperlinked entries, including topical entries, primary source documents, biographies, maps, images, and timelines. The content is also searchable by tribe and culture area.

Ancient and Medieval History Online
Focusing on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia, Ancient and Medieval History Online gives a balanced, global view of the world in ancient and medieval times. Thousands of entries on events, people, and primary source documents are hyperlinked and allow users a comprehensive and comparative view of the pre-modern world.

Literary Reference Center

"Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works."

 

Bloom's Literary Reference Online Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.