Research Guides: Advertising: Market Share & Size

Market Share & Size

IBISWorld
Market share is defined as the "percentage of industry sales of a particular company or product" (Barron's Dictionary of Business Terms. 2000, 3rd ed).

Market share is not formally collected. some companies track their own market shares and report it in Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) filings like the 10-Ks or their annual reports to shareholders.

Market shares and market sizes may also be reported in industry reports. Look in IBISWorld (link below) for the industry.

If the industry report doesn't have it, some industry magazines and newspapers will. These can be found by searching the following business databases. Combine the search term "market share" with the name of the brand, company, or product. Join these search terms together using the AND operator to insure that both terms are present in your search results.
ABI/Inform (ProQuest)
Articles and abstracts dealing with public and private companies, industry research, marketing and advertising, finance, and human resources. Full text is available online for approximately half of those journals.
Business Source Premier
This database indexes and abstracts many of the most important business journals, providing full text articles in all disciplines of business, including advertising, marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics. The database also includes detailed company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest publicly traded companies.